The Wishing Well Dresser

I had every intention to not take on any more projects so close to my due date but then I saw this dresser at Goodwill. I actually left it behind once but had to go back for a second look. Since it was in better shape than I remembered (and 50% off) I took it home.

WW BEFORE

The drawer bottoms just needed a little added support since the original nails had become dislodged, and the terrible replacement handles had to go. I wanted to give the classic vintage dresser a more modern look so I chose Country Chic Paint’s new Limited Edition Fall/Winter color “Wishing Well” which is a gorgeous blue-teal tone. I only gave it one coat and distressed to let some of the original oak come through. I sealed with Hemp Oil which darkened the color just a touch and gave a polished sheen. The top was rubbed down with Howard’s Restore-a-Finish (an essential product for any furniture refinisher) to buff out a few scratches and water marks.

With new black and white knobs this piece could not be prettier. I’m in love.

WW AFTER 1
that vintage folding wooden chair I found for $4 at Goodwill! My seltzer bottle and corbel (part of a matching pair) were antique fair finds
WW AFTER 2
anyone else can’t make up their mind how to stage pieces? I end up taking soooo many more photos than I use!

WW AFTER 4

IMG_2884

 

 

One thought on “The Wishing Well Dresser

  1. I like the first staging best, the one with the single white corbel. (I didn’t know that’s what they are called. ) Also, I would call this small piece a chest

    instead of a dresser, but maybe ‘chest’ is outdated. Whatever it’s called, you did a fabulous job of making a really ugly piece into something lovely

    to look at, and functional too. The color is beautiful!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

