French Provincial Vanity Makeover

I’m always drawn to vintage French Provincial pieces. They’re usually in need of an update from the original cream and gold paint job but are such classic, timeless pieces. When I found this flip top vanity for a great deal I was ecstatic!

EAV BEFORE

The original finish was dirty and someone had poorly covered the gold trim with turquoise paint that was flaking. I sanded as much as I could and sealed the entire piece with a thick coat of Country Chic’s Tough Coat. While this is typically a top coat, it works great as a base coat and sealer as well. I painted the interior Simplicity and Pebble Beach before using a special mirror adhesive to attach a new beveled edge round mirror.

Country Chic Paint’s new Limited Edition Fall/Winter color “Ever After” was the perfect color to modernize this vintage piece while keeping its classic, feminine charm.

EAV IN PROGRESS

The paint alone I found to be more purple than I wanted so, working on small sections at a time, I dampened the piece and brushed on Graphite glaze with a damp brush, immediately wiping the excess. Once the glaze was completely dry I applied a little grey wax to give a dusty, aged look. With a pinch of distressing, a little gold paint on the faux lock, and the beautiful original handles back in place this flaking, dingy piece was once again elegant and beautiful.

EAV AFTER 1

EAV AFTER 2

EAV AFTER 4

One thought on “French Provincial Vanity Makeover

Leave a Reply

