Two-Tone Waterfall Dresser Makeover

I’ve always admired vintage waterfall pieces but have never been able to get a good enough deal…until now!

WF BEFORE

This dresser needed a decent amount of repair work before getting to the fun part, but it had all original handles and a cool Art Deco decorative strip at the bottom. Unfortunately the previous owner had super glued a broken drawer front instead of properly repairing it so I had to work around the messy repair and patch the best I could.

After cleaning thoroughly with mineral spirits and patching chipped veneer with wood filler, I darkened the stain on the ridged edges and the top drawer. I used Rustoleum wood stain in “Kona”, letting it sit for just a minute before gently wiping up with a lint-free rag. This allowed the stain to just barely darken the wood without compromising the design in the veneer on the drawer like sanding and staining or using gel stain would. There are visible imperfections in the drawer if you look at it right, but it just adds to the vintage look (or so I keep telling myself).

The decorative tops to the handles were cheap plastic, not Bakelite, the more valuable substance used during the era this dresser was made. Most of the plastic was broken so I finished breaking and removing it from the brass handles. I boiled the handles in a vinegar and water mixture and scrubbed them with a wire brush, drying thoroughly when I was done. The layers of filth that came off was nasty!

WF HANDLES
this is after…I like to leave them imperfect for a nice vintage patina

Now for the fun part! I mixed Country Chic Paint in “Liquorice” and “Midnight Sky” to make a dark, rich navy. After one coat on the top, sides, and 3 drawers it looked too dark, more black than navy, so I mixed much more “Midnight Sky” in the paint for the second coat.

Sealed with natural wax for a gentle sheen, this dresser is ready for its new lease on life! This post was originally shared on Country Chic Paint’s blog; check out other great projects here.

WF AFTER 1

WF after for my blog

WF AFTER 5

WF AFTER 2

WF after for my blog (2)

WF AFTER 6

Leave a Reply

