Old Barn Milk Paint Buffet Makeover

This was the most expensive piece of furniture I’ve ever bought. Maybe that’s saying something because it was a really good deal for a vintage solid wood buffet in perfect condition…and I got free delivery thrown in. I’ve never tackled a piece this big but was excited to modernize the dated look.

IMG_1162

Thankfully my dad was in town to help figure out how to remove the top to take off the odd brass decorative backing. I also removed the brass handles that just didn’t fit the style of the buffet. (I always sell the hardware I don’t use so other refurbishers can find what they need at a good price; check my Etsy shop for sales!) I patched the holes from removing these and got to work painting.

I mixed a custom blend of Old Barn Milk Paint using about 50/50 Weathervane and Chesterfield. My first coat had a little more Weathervane and the second had a little more Chesterfield which gave some depth to the otherwise fairly plain style. The milk paint did what milk paint does and I just went with it. The end result was a perfectly chippy finish that wasn’t too dramatic as it was mostly around the door and drawer edges and the top. I used a gray tinted clear wax to seal, applying two coats to the top and drawer fronts for extra protection.

I debated about handles. I had some gorgeous Hepplewhite style vintage brass handles in my stash but they just didn’t look quite right with the sort of beachy, modern paint finish so I went with a classic white ceramic knob. Much better! I covered the gross brown felt drawer liners with a modern paper I ordered from Spoonflower for my MCM credenza.

IMG_1329

IMG_1334

IMG_1412

IMG_1312

IMG_1323

Leave a Reply

