Vintage Mini Dresser Refresh

I’ve been calling this piece a mini-dresser but it’s really more nightstand size. No matter what you call it, it was in need of a refresh. The old finish was flaking and was a garish yellow-green. Other than looking ugly and a chunk missing from the side (an easy fix with wood filler) there wasn’t anything else wrong with this little cast-off.

IMG_0507

I sanded the top and drawer fronts as clean as I could get them with my orbital sander. Goodbye yellow! I didn’t want them much darker so I used dark antique wax to add richness to the wood without adding a lot of color. Dry-brushed liming wax gave a soft, weathered look.

The exterior surround I painted a pale blue chalk paint called “Vintage” by DecoArt. This is probably my least favorite brand of paint but I do really like the color and already had some on hand.

I lightly distressed and added glass knobs to the drawers. The original handles were very cool and unique but just didn’t match the new look. I either sell or re-use all the original hardware that doesn’t make it back on a piece so the really unique ones can find a new home (check out my Etsy page for my current offers!)

For a little something special I stenciled birds on the sides of the drawers; it’s fun to add these little surprise touches that set your work apart from all the other painted furniture out there.

IMG_0534

IMG_0536

IMG_0519
For easy and affordable drawer liners use spray adhesive and pretty wrapping paper

This ugly duckling is now a cute, cottage-y little accent piece.

One thought on “Vintage Mini Dresser Refresh

Leave a Reply

