It’s the most wonderful time of the year (FREE PRINTABLE!)

I LOVE Christmas. I love decorating, I love shopping for the perfect gifts, I love hosting parties, I love cheesy Christmas pjs, I love the smell of fresh fir trees, I love vintage red trucks with trees on top. Decorating with my Twin Tornadoes isn’t easy since everything has to be out of reach and the tree needs to be blocked off…not to mention the limitations of a small apartment.

Decorating on a budget and in a small apartment can be a challenge. Here’s a quick look at my attempts!

img_3970

A real Christmas tree is essential in my opinion and a 6 foot Douglas fir from Lowe’s is under $30. I made our tree skirt with some burlap fabric I found at Walmart for under $5 a yard. The copper ball ornaments are toddler-safe plastic (BOGO deal from Michael’s) that I painted.

Each year my family has added a special ornament honoring something significant that happened that year. This tradition started with my parents’ first Christmas together when they made all their own ornaments and I’ve continued it with my own little family. When I was four I picked the annual ornament and the carousel is still one of my favorites.

The vintage wooden toy ornaments (Santa and Mrs Claus seen below) are some from my childhood.

img_3872

I made our Christmas Trees sign with a thrift store sign, the ceramic truck I found at Target for only $3, and the Christmas countdown chalkboard was a $3 Goodwill frame I painted. The antique embroidery hoop was a thrift store find too. I added greenery and ribbon to transform it into a Christmas card display wreath.

The pillows below were an awesome Target Dollar Spot find (only $5 each). I made the middle pillow with leftover fabric from the tree skirt. Since we don’t have a mantel I bought the reclaimed wood planter with hooks to hang our stockings. Some last minute Goodwill greenery sprigs dress it up.

img_3960

I’ve made a lot of Christmas decor for my local shop as well. These are all really simple projects anyone can do (or you can look for similar finds at a small business and support local artists).

$1 thrift store plates (the plates I found were made in Italy) and oil based paint pens make great, unique hostess gifts.

img_2607
I’ve made stocking hanging signs in various sizes using wood scraps and hooks. I layered gray and white paint for a weathered look and used my Sharpie brush markers for the lettering

Thrift store frames are great for year-round projects. Print your favorite Christmas printables (like the one included at the bottom of the post) and add to your painted frame. I turned an 11×14 frame into a chalkboard and the rustic wood 8×10 below into a wreath by adding greenery and a bow.

img_2659

What are some of your favorite ways to decorate on a budget? Merry Christmas!

merry-1
enjoy your free Christmas printable! simple right click and save the image

 

 

One thought on “It’s the most wonderful time of the year (FREE PRINTABLE!)

Leave a Reply

