Vintage Chair Makeover (and reviews of DecoArt Metallics Rose Gold paint and FolkArt Milk Paint)

These chairs were just too cute to leave behind on Goodwill 50% off day. At only $7 each I knew I could refresh these for a nice little profit. Instead of sticking to the vintage style I decided to blend vintage and modern with a bit of metallic paint.

I recently bought some DecoArt Metallic paint in Rose Gold. There was quite a range of metallics to choose from, but I love rose gold and thought it was the most “true to hue” color. As soon as I saw this paint I knew I wanted to try dipped feet. The next day I found my chairs…perfect!

img_2334

Since 3 chairs probably won’t sell as a set, I decided to do two similar and one totally different. Turning to my clearance fabric scraps (my fabric hoarding comes in handy!) I pulled out a couple options and used those for inspiration. One chair I painted CraftSmart “Silver Gray”, a light and soft gray that is very versatile. Another I painted 3-4 coats of FolkArt “Absinthe” Milk Paint. I LOVE this color. I’ve used it for a few frames but not a furniture piece yet.

Milk paint is very different from chalk paint. It’s much thinner (requiring more coats for complete coverage) which can be a little tedious when you’re in a rush to finish a project. I’ve found chalk paint to be much easier to layer and distress for depth and texture while milk paint gives a silky smooth finish. Of the few brands of milk paint I’ve tried, FolkArt is the most affordable, has a comparable (if not better) color selection, and performs just as well as some of the more expensive brands. My one complaint is the size of the bottles and their tiny openings; I’d love to see a wider 8 oz jar instead of the tiny bottles.

The third chair I layered a few shades of blue and dry brushed the final layer, CraftSmart “French Teal” chalk paint, to let the darker layers show here and there. With a bold black and white fabric seat, this chair was finished!

img_3832

img_3834

The gray and green chairs were getting dipped feet. I taped and painted two coats of the rose gold. It has a similar consistency to chalk paint and dries just as fast. The shimmer is just gorgeous! Finished with matching vintage-style bird fabric seats, these chairs are the cutest coordinating pair.

img_3837

img_3840

Leave a Reply

