Liming Wax Dresser Makeover

I found a really good deal on this solid hardwood dresser. The character of the aged wood was lovely, though some of the knobs were mismatched and less-than-stellar. After struggling to get this thing in the back of the van we knew there was no way we were ever going to get it up three flights of stairs. I consider myself a fairly strong person thanks to all my furniture carrying but I can barely help TwinDad get this thing off the ground.

img_1971

Sidewalk makeover it is. At least fall weather has finally come and it’s gorgeous outside; sunny and breezy! I’ve heard a lot about this stuff called liming wax and I’ve been intrigued. Since I picked some up made by Valspar at the hardware store for about $12 I’ve been waiting for the right opportunity to use it. Not wanting to spill paint on the sidewalk and not wanting to cover up the character of the wood, I turned to my new product.

I decided to brush on inside of wipe with a rag since I find I have a little more control with a brush. A little goes a long way so just barely wet the end of your brush before wiping on in straight, even strokes. Keep working your brush to smooth the wax out. Let it settle into all the cracks and crevices. Let a little more settle into corners for a more naturally aged look. The best liming wax finishes are imperfect since it gives an old, weathered feel. Let the imperfections in the wood really stand out!

img_1983

Once I was finished I gave the whole thing a rub down with medium grit sandpaper to smooth it out. I wiped it clean and voila! Aged farmhouse chic in an hour.

img_3765

Leave a Reply

