The $5 Garage Sale Dresser

MORGANS (1)

After a leisurely Saturday morning with a family breakfast of delicious peaches and cream oatmeal (recipe at the bottom) we ran out to some local neighborhood yard sales. Most had wrapped up for the day but we found one driveway with some furniture pieces still out. That’s where I found the $5 dresser. It was a little plain Jane and missing some knobs but it was a decent find and I’ve spent $5 on less deserving things (like the gas station fountain drinks and bag of chips we picked up later!).

I played around with a number of ideas for this dresser. I could do something feminine and chic with coral or mint paint and glass knobs, something neutral like my go-to FolkArt “Sheepskin” or CraftSmart “Silver Gray”, or something totally different with a touch of industrial flair. I’m not great at decisions and this piece is such an exciting blank slate.  After running my ideas by TwinDad he helped me choose a direction…farmhouse style.

IMG_0381

I decided to leave the lovely distressed wood top and paint the rest white. To add some interest I painted a French grain sack pattern down the front in dark gray. Just a tip: when painting grain sack stripes stick with classic colors like red, black, blue, or dark gray. Once the paint dried I distressed the edges and the stripes and added antique brass looking knobs. I’m glad TwinDad steered me in this direction! I sort of went overboard with the pictures; I’m just a little bit in love with how this turned out.

IMG_0391

This is one of the simplest paint jobs…start to finish during one nap-time.

Peaches and Cream Oatmeal Recipe

This is a favorite of mine and I thought I would share in case some of ya’ll wanted to try it.

Cook Quaker quick oats on the stovetop according to the package. Dice a fresh, ripe peach for each serving and place in the bottom of the bowl. If your peaches aren’t quite ripe, dice them and simmer in a saucepan in a few tablespoons of water and a sprinkle of sugar (brown or white). Once the oatmeal is cooked, add a heaping tablespoon of brown sugar for each serving made and stir well. Sprinkle in some walnuts and a dash of milk (I use coconut milk). Serve over the peaches and enjoy!

One thought on “The $5 Garage Sale Dresser

  1. I’m going to buy either peaches or nectarines tomorrow to try your yummy oatmeal. Your Pappy starts almost every day with oatmeal which he nukes with almond milk, frozen blueberries, walnuts, honey, and a LOT of cinnamon. It looks really ugly and soupy, but he must like it. I like mine much thicker, with milk, a pat of butter (or more, if I’m feeling reckless) and a pack of Splenda and dried cranberries. Thanks for the peaches tip!

    Had lunch today with Taylor during her lunch hour, and she asked about all of you. I REALLY wish the Peeps clan lived closer, but that will ever happen.

    May the Lord grant you a peaceful night! Love much, Grammy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

