Jewelry Box Makeovers and FolkArt Chalk Paint Review

Jewelry Box Makeovers

Old jewelry boxes are frequent finds at thrift stores but they’re not all worth buying. If a jewelry box has soiled felt lining or felt that smells don’t bother. If the handles don’t unscrew you may not want to deal with the extra work required to tape them off so you can paint. If the glass or plastic inserts are glued down you’re also facing a lot of extra work. See some of my other makeovers where I’ve come up with solutions for soiled felt and broken glass here.

As I mentioned in a previous post, the Plaid company was gracious enough to send me some free samples of their FolkArt chalk paints and waxes. I thought these jewelry boxes would be perfect projects for some of the colors.

The littlest jewelry box was actually brand new in the box with pristine felt (plus, at 50% off it was only $3). The heart shaped glass and handles were super girly so I decided to make it even more girly with “Willow Mist”. I don’t usually like pink but this isn’t like any other pink I’ve seen before. It’s so soft and subtle! I refer to it as hydrangea pink and you can see why in the picture below. This would be a fantastic color for a vintage dresser needing a shabby chic makeover.

The medium jewelry box (which also happens to be a music box and was only $4) I painted with my favorite color, “English Lavender”. I’ve been looking for a good purple and I’ve tried a few others but have been disappointed. I wasn’t disappointed with this one! It was soft and almost smoky, the perfect lavender. Paired with the pale gray felt I think this jewelry box could work with a soft, girly palette as well as a bolder purple, gray, and teal palette.

The large jewelry box I was going to paint “Glacier”, but I decided to do something a little different. I mixed a 50/50 blend of “Glacier” and ArtMinds “Pacifica”. It looks sort of like Cinderella’s dress so I’ve nicknamed this mix “Cinderella blue”. This jewelry box didn’t have removable handles and the glass inserts were glued down so I had to painstakingly tape off the handles and scrape the stray paint off the glass with the tip of a razor knife. Unless you absolutely love the jewelry box don’t waste your time with the excess work. It’s quite tedious! Finished with a little white wax wiped on with a cloth, I think this jewelry box is a one-of-a-kind. The amount of storage alone makes this a great piece.

All of these jewelry boxes are for sale in my Etsy shop!

A final note about the FolkArt chalk paint:

Pros:

  • Paints smoothly and brush strokes disappear with the second coat
  • Coverage is so exceptional you almost don’t need a second coat
  • Dries quickly so projects don’t take as long
  • Actual color is true to the color on the bottle so no “let’s hope this works” guessing game when picking colors

Cons:

  • Small bottle opening so it would be hard to get a paintbrush larger than 1″ inside
  • Not all colors are stocked at my local craft stores so I would have to order online (this isn’t really a con for the makers of the paint so much as my local store)
One thought on “Jewelry Box Makeovers and FolkArt Chalk Paint Review

Leave a Reply

