#goodwillhunting Upcycling Thrifted Finds into Expensive Looking Home Decor

I’m going to try to make these posts a regular thing since I’m always bringing home small projects as well as furniture. Remember my last haul and farmhouse decor made from Goodwill finds? Here’s my latest batch! I’m stocking up on merchandise before moving to my new shop in a couple weeks.

Farmhouse Wall Shelves

These solid wood wall shelves were faded and blah. The potential was obvious and the work needed minimal. For $13 they were mine. A little FolkArt “Sheepskin” paint and some Minwax “Weathered Oak” stain were all it took to freshen up these gorgeous shelves. I just LOVE the wood grain. If you’ve ever shopped for wooden wall shelves at retail stores you know how expensive they can be and if you’ve ever shopped at Goodwill you know wall shelves (though dated) are available in abundance.

IMG_0244

FullSizeRender (3)
Look at that gorgeous color!

Rustic Laundry Room Sign

Ok so this one isn’t really a Goodwill find, but I’m throwing it in here anyway. Just a few doors down from my shop is a little primitives store that I’ve never had time to visit until recently. I bought a GORGEOUS reclaimed barnwood frame and this little scrap of wood that looks a bit like a mini ironing board. I stenciled “laundry” and, once the paint dried, rubbed it down with sandpaper to distress.

Milk Glass Decor

I’ve always been drawn to milk glass but haven’t (yet) become a hoarder. I’m already bad enough about hoarding silverplate items. Boxwood, succulents, and other greenery are all the rage and I’m all about mixing vintage and modern. What better way than to pop some quality faux plants in milk glass vases I picked up for $3 each? I found the greenery half sphere at Hobby Lobby on sale for $5 and it was a perfect fit. The succulents I also found at Hobby Lobby (make sure to wait for the 50% off sale because they’re pricey).

IMG_0250

Coral Spray Wall Decor 

I had just bought a pile of frames in various sizes at Goodwill for $.50-$6 each when I ran into the 70% off floral section at Michael’s. For just a handful of pennies I picked up a pink coral spray to frame. One of my $1 frames was painted ArtMinds “Sea Glass” and I trimmed the spray to fit in the frame. With a sheet of white cardstock (a gold chevron pattern would be extra trendy) to finish, this super inexpensive project looks like a fancy piece of wall art. Now if only I lived by the beach…

4 thoughts on “#goodwillhunting Upcycling Thrifted Finds into Expensive Looking Home Decor

  1. I’ve been a sucker for succulents for more years than you’ve existed, so, of course, I fell for your sale faux succulent arrangement in one of your very pretty milk glass vases! It’s great that you can put low-cost items together and make everything look so chic. What’s this about your shop? Are you leasing a whole building or space somewhere? Tell me more. I must have missed the original info. Tell your honey that I hope his Father’s Day was enjoyable. His sons are fortunate. When are ya’ll going on your trip to Texas? Driving or flying? Love, Grammy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    1. Thank you! Mixing natural, rustic, and industrial elements is a particular favorite of mine. Mine is a Westinghouse oscillating fan and they can be found pretty easily on eBay (just takes some looking to find the right price!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

