The Yard Sale Desk

While enjoying a nice sunny Saturday we drove through a neighborhood next to ours that was having a community yard sale. Almost everyone was selling! We were there later in the afternoon and probably missed out on some of the better deals but there was a cute little desk sitting in the middle of a driveway that called my name. It could use a new paint job but it was solid wood and sturdy. And $10. It came home with me along with some antique blue glass Mason jars.

image1
Sorry for the low quality picture…I was eager to get painting while the Twin Tornadoes were finally napping!

While it looks like a cheap little girl’s desk right now by now (if you’ve been following my projects) you should know that some paint and new knobs work wonders. Pretty much any color would be a great choice for this desk: white, gray, black, blue, mint, coral, taupe… It was difficult picking a color.

Mint with classic glass knobs would be precious for a little girl or for a grown-up who loves a bright pop of color. Coral with white ceramic knobs would be a fun summer color and I love the texture of my newest find, Buttercream Luxe chalk paint. I’ve got a very bold yellow paint that, paired with black knobs and maybe with a sunflower stencil, could be something totally different from anything I’ve done before. Then there’s the classic soft gray that goes with everything. UGH. DECISIONS.

While looking at knobs I found some super cute white anchors. So I went with a nautical theme. The desk was painted CraftSmart “Midnight Blue” and the shelves given a white refresh. On a whim I made the desk top a chalkboard surface with a couple coats of chalkboard paint. After a little distressing and lining the drawer with anchor patterned paper I was done. This cutie will be heading to the shop soon!

One thought on “The Yard Sale Desk

Leave a Reply

