Farmhouse Dresser

Farmhouse Dresser Tutorial

I loved this dresser from first sight. For a brief moment I considered painting it coral but I always knew it needed to be white.

image2 (2)
After I patched a few nicks with wood filler…

I had some Americana Decor “Everlasting” on hand so, after cleaning the dresser and removing the broken Bakelite handles, I painted two coats. Even after two coats (usually quite sufficient) it was unsatisfactory coverage. I’ve been repeatedly let down by DecoArt’s Americana Decor chalky finish paint and this was the last straw. I wrote to the company. While they were quite professional and asked for the batch information for quality control and offered to send a replacement, I personally don’t see why I should use the more expensive product that has failed me when the much cheaper ArtMinds brand from Michael’s has never let me down. (FolkArt and CraftSmart are really great brands too, but the jar openings are smaller which makes it harder to insert my paintbrush).

image3 (2)
Can you believe this is THREE coats of paint??

After only one good coat of ArtMinds “Simply White” my dresser was back on track. Though I did sand smooth the previous coats, there was still some crackling which affected my new coat. Since I planned on distressing this piece, the minor crackling in some areas works.

With new black knobs that have a scallop detail similar to the dresser, this trashed dresser is now farmhouse chic!

 

2 thoughts on “Farmhouse Dresser

Leave a Reply

