Farmhouse Table Tutorial

I’ve gotten a lot of requests for this tutorial, so here it is!

BEFORE (3)

I grew up with this golden oak kitchen table. We’ve had a lot of family dinners around this table. It’s seen better days but for surviving 5 kids and 5 moves in 4 states it’s still sturdy. Somewhere along the way some sort of sticky gunk built up on the top so I’ve had a tablecloth hiding it for the past couple years. My mom helped me paint the old spindle chairs when I was a couple weeks from having the twins. I’ve had my sights set on the table for a while now but didn’t want to deal with sanding down the gunk so I could re-stain the top. Finally I just went for it in classic “figuring it out as we go along” style.

To keep things simple, here is a straight forward breakdown of the steps (all the items I used I found at Michael’s and Home Depot) followed by pictures:

  1. I sanded down the gunky spots until they were smooth and cleaned the top really well
  2. I painted a light coat of Americana Decor “Primitive” chalk paint over the entire table
  3. I painted a light, patchy coat of Art Minds “Smoked Pearl” chalk paint
  4. I sanded that smooth and wiped the table clean
  5. I brushed on a coat of “Weathered Oak” Minwax wood stain
  6. I didn’t like it so I waited for that to dry and painted a light coat of “Primitive” letting some of the gray stain show through
  7. Once that dried I brushed on two coats of “Weathered Oak” stain
  8. After that dried I brushed on a coat of “Weathered Gray” stain (this is very different from the weathered oak which has more of an oak color instead of light gray)
  9. While the gray stain was still wet, I very lightly brushed in a few strokes of walnut gel stain (I used the Craft Smart brand) to give more of a worn, weathered look
  10. While the top thoroughly dried I painted the rest of the table with a coat of Folk Art “Sheepskin” chalk paint over the “Primitive”
  11. I finished things off by lightly distressing the base of the table and giving the top a thick coat of clear polyurethane

 

IMG_9461
With the coat of “Primitive” on top of the stain
IMG_9462
With the weathered oak stain

 

IMG_9641
All done!

Believe it or not, this only took me two days (not counting the extra 3 days for the top to COMPLETELY dry before sealing). Now I just need to decide on the style chair I want! Any thoughts?

One thought on “Farmhouse Table Tutorial

Leave a Reply

