Thrifting Regrets and Scores

If you’ve been following my blog you’ve probably realized I spend a decent amount of time thrifting. Throughout my years of dingy shelf digging I have had a number of regrets. I’ll pass over something then lose sleep kicking myself for not bringing it home. A few of my latest regrets include a pair of huge beautiful white distressed candlesticks with incredible detail, an enormous antique astrological sign tin tray that would have sold quickly in my shop for a substantial profit, a French Provincial complete bedroom set, and a large brass serving tray. I also found this gorgeous antique waterfall style dresser with original bone inlaid hardware that I just couldn’t spend $400 on.

IMG_8442

For all the losses, I certainly bring home plenty. One of my recent scores was a huge antique industrial looking framed print of the Wright brothers and their famous plane for my boys’ adventure themed bedroom. It is now hanging near the giant model airplane their great-grandfather built decades ago that I suspended from the ceiling.

Another recent score was a super gross wall hook paddle with a cheap wooden lighthouse glued to it. I pulled the lighthouse off before getting a picture, but here is the before…

IMG_8064
My carpet may look gross, but it’s just the way it photographs (promise! it’s really white)

I’ve always liked the idea of a paddle wall hook for my boys’ room but they run about $35+ in retail stores. This one only cost me $4. I was going to paint it white with a navy stripe, but decided to go with a driftwood stain instead to keep it neutral. There’s a lot of color going on in their room as it is.

First I sanded it down to remove any trace of the glued on lighthouse. After letting a quick coat of Americana Decor “primitive” chalk paint dry, I wiped on about 3 layers of weathered gray wood stain. I used my cotton rag for wiping excess to wipe a sort of wood grain look. Once it was all dry, I sanded just a tad for a distressed, aged look and voila! Here it hangs behind the door to hold their coats.

IMG_8329

I like giving kids’ rooms wall hooks at kid height to promote responsibility in hanging their own things. My boys aren’t even walking yet so it’ll be a while before we see how often their coats actually make it to the hooks.

IMG_8429
This $2 thrifted frame was spray painted galvanized silver and turned into a chalkboard for the boys’ adventure-themed room

 

 

Leave a Reply

