Altering a Thrifted Find: Cutting a V-Neckline into a Round Neck Dress

Being a huge fan of consignment shops, thrift stores, and eBay deals, I often find myself falling in love with dresses that aren’t quite the right fit. I’m far from an accomplished seamstress, but I’ve learned a few tricks during my thrifting days and now I’m not so scared of tackling a number of basic alterations.

My latest consignment store score was a beautiful, brand new, silk Maggy London dress that is about 3-4 sizes too big. While I don’t usually go for bold patterns, I fell in love with the bright floral pattern. While silk is more difficult to work with, this fit-and-flare style dress has basic seams up the sides and a back zipper so I felt confident I could take it in as much as needed (side zippers make it pretty much impossible to take in a dress without professional help). However, my twin bump won’t let me take in the dress until after the boys come.

IMG_2112
I love my local consignment store for many reasons, one of which is the wonderful job they do putting together outfits. I particularly love the belt and necklace with this one!

My figure tends to prefer wearing v-necks since they’re more flattering than a round neck. I’d never made a v-neck out of a round neck dress, and it wasn’t without a great amount of nervousness that I took my scissors to this lovely silk dress. I used another v-neck dress to measure how deep to cut the v-neck. Most important is making sure you cut straight and even so your v-neck won’t be off-center.

IMG_2257
I measured and marked how deep to cut my v-neck and made sure it was straight down the middle

IMG_2256

  • Once I cut a straight line down, I folded the extra fabric inside, pinned the new neckline, and trimmed the excess making sure to leave enough to fold the raw edges under.
  • I used my sewing machine to stitch down the raw edges.
  • Using the silk setting on my iron, I pressed the stitches.
  • I then folded the neckline under one more time and hand-stitched the ends down to have a clean front to the dress.
IMG_2263
Not the neatest of stitches, but it works for me!

I’m quite happy with the outcome and can’t wait to take in the sides and wear this dress!

IMG_2262
I pulled this lilac cardigan out of my closet and I have a coral belt too, just like the one on the consignment store mannequin

IMG_2261

4 thoughts on “Altering a Thrifted Find: Cutting a V-Neckline into a Round Neck Dress

Leave a Reply

